20
Jan
08

Roy Jones Jr. vs. Felix Trinidad the fight that should have never happenned..ever!

Roy Jones Jr. will be fighting Felix Trinidad later on this evening. In this fight between boxing champs of the 90’s, the only real winners will be the promoters while the only losers will be the fans and boxing. I am going to go briefly through my tale of the tape. So in this corner we have

Roy Jones Jr.

His deal.

Arguably the most physically gifted fighter ever at any weight class, he has been at times put in the rare position of being asked to go above and beyond what other modern day fighters have to do to “prove” their greatness.

What he brings to this fight?

I fully expect a Roy Jones knockout. He is bigger, stronger, faster, quicker and should be in better condition. If Jones does NOT knock him out, then shame on him. He has all the tools to do it and he does owe the sport of boxing and its fans a little something special after his shameless performance against Tarver in his third fight where his only goal was to prove that he could last 12 rounds without getting knocked out. But champions are determined in real life and not on my blog. So in this corner…

Felix “Tito” Trinidad

His deal.

Was a welterweight juggernaut in the early 90’s. He beat everyone he fought and that included the “golden boy.” Even in that fight, he was being completely out boxed until De La Hoya decided to run away and coast for the latter half of the fight.

What he brings to this fight?

Unbelievable slowness coupled with great punching power. Now Trinidad is slower, less quick and weaker but he is usually all of those things when he fights any of his opponents. Roy Jones does have a suspect chin and Trinidad could exploit that weakness if he can land (more to that in my conclusion).

And the winner is…

Roy Jones. Trinidad has been known as a knockout artist. But that was at 147 pounds and then at 154 pounds. He has beaten only one true middle weight, DC’s own William Joppy. In this fight he will be fighting someone who is bigger and probably has a better chin than Joppy. Wow. He has already found out what Oscar De La Hoya found out when he “beat” Felix Sturn.

Force = Mass x Acceleration

The only difference is that Oscar knows and respects this limitation. Even after the whooping he got from Bernard Hopkins, Trinidad just won’t admit that he is just a fat welterweight. You know what they say, de Nile is a river in Egypt. Unfortunately for my Trinidad supporters, that rivers name is Roy Jones and Tito, cannot swim.

2 Responses to “Roy Jones Jr. vs. Felix Trinidad the fight that should have never happenned..ever!”


  1. July 1, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    I have never thought much of Trinidad since his controversial defeat of ODLH. I thought he got owned in that fight and ODLH was robbed. No fight of Trinidad’s SINCE that fight improved my opinion of him. If you want to understand my opinion of trinidad, just watch hopkins/trinidad. That is my opinion of him. He was an amateur that tried to take on pro’s and got his butt WHIPPED every time he did.

    So you know that I AM biased, RJJ is my PERSONAL pick as pound for pound best boxer that has ever lived. I don’t want to try and rate 2nd,3rd,4th etc. etc… but I will say that with RJJ at #1; Ali, Julio cesar Chavez, Joe Lewis, and Sugar ray Leonard would most likely join RJJ in my personal pick of top 5 greatest of all time, not necessarily in that order.

    I agree with the OP of this post that this was a fight that should never have happened. Any knowledgeable boxing fan KNEW trinidad stood no chance against Jones. Jones had already whooped (and if I remember correct with one hand) Hopkins. Hopkins literally schooled Trinidad. Who in their right mind told trinidad he had a chance of beating Jones?

    I do understand the detractors of Jones. He lacks the killer instinct, he is high on survive and win instinct. Many boxing fans are not fans of that fighting style. As a survivor myself; I find that fighting style courageous. Kind of like Ali v/s Liston, or foreman. I don’t recall Ali being berated for his style the way Jones was.

    Jones is an interesting fighter to me in the same way Ali was. However Jones was far better at what Ali was secondarily known for. Ali was primarily known for his rhetoric, secondarily for his defense as a fighter, his quickness and his ELUSIVENESS. Ali didn’t get hit MUCH. He was famous for it, he bragged about it. Jones took that to the next level, he didn’t get hit either, sometimes at ALL. Where Ali was good at not getting hit and counter-punching, Jones was excellent at it. Where Ali survived the rounds where he was being bombed by a puncher, Jones eluded punches and WON the round.

    I met Ali when I was a teenager in the 70’s and will always be a fan, but I’ve never seen a greater boxer than Roy Jones Jr. Trinidad was a flash in the pan. I never saw him win what I thought was a great fight.


Leave a Reply

